RSS Feed

Thanksgiving Recipes–Chocolate Chess Pie

Posted on

Chocolate Chess Pie is my favorite pie ever. In the world. IN THE UNIVERSE.

But I only make it once a year. At Thanksgiving. Because I believe that if you eat this pie every week, the universe will implode. And you will probably go up a few pants sizes. And maybe have a heart attack.

But once a year, and you’re good.

Chess pies seem to be a southern thing. When I lived in Missouri, and now, in Colorado, most people haven’t heard of chess pie. Which makes me sad for them. Because chess pies are a think of beauty. Chocolate chess is my favorite, but I am also a fan of lemon.

This particular recipe comes from The Nancy Farmer Cookbook. I grew up with tons of recipes from this cookbook. Nancy Farmer was a home ec teacher in Virginia. She had a sister, Beverly, who always told Nancy she should make a cookbook. And when Beverly passed away, at the age of 22, Nancy made her cookbook.

So thank you Nancy, and Beverly, for my chocolate chess pie.

Chocolate Chess Pie
from The Nancy Farmer Cookbook

1 3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup cocoa
1 1/4 cup melted butter
4 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup evaporated milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 10-inch pie crust, unbaked (or two, 9-inch, store bought crusts, filled a little less full)
Fresh whipped cream (optional)

Combine sugar, cocoa and butter; mix well. Add eggs, milk and vanilla. Pour into pie shell(s). Bake at 350 for 35 to 45 minutes, or until the pie is set and doesn’t “jiggle” (like your thighs will after you eat it!) I like to top it with a dollop of freshly whipped, lightly sweetened whipped cream. Heavenly!

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

4 responses »

  1. Mmmmmm, this is similar to the recipe I use.

    Reply
  2. This recipe really appeals to me especially as I’m a chocoholic. Always eager to try new desserts. Would like to add another dessert to my Thanksgiving dessert menu – this might end up on the list!

    Reply
  3. So I’m from Missouri and I hadn’t heard of chess pie until I came to Nashville. It’s one of my favorite things about the south.

    Reply
  4. I’ve never heard of chess pie… but this seems something like a rich chocolate custard in a pie crust, and it looks delicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

