RSS Feed

Cranberry Bliss Bars

Posted on

Can you tell I’m posting things that I made MONTHS ago? This was actually a treat from the 12 Days of Christmas Goodies. But they were so yummy, that you should make them year-round!

These are somewhat a copy-cat recipe of Starbucks Cranberry Bliss Bars, which are a seasonal treat there. I think I like these better though! I actually increased the cream cheese from the recipe I had (I thought the original was a tad too sweet), and I didn’t do the powdered sugar and milk drizzle. I just didn’t think it needed it.

These are a really yummy treat! I highly recommend them 🙂

Cranberry Bliss Bars
adapted sligthly from recipezaar and Good Things Catered

Ingredients:
for cookie
1 c. butter, softened
1 1/4 c. light brown sugar, packed
3 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp orange extract
1 tsp ground ginger (I would say this is optional. I like the ginger flavor, but I know not everybody does)
1/4 tsp salt
1 2/3 c. all-purpose flour
3/4 c. diced dried cranberries
3/4 c. white chocolate chunks

for frosting
8 oz cream cheese, softened
3 c. powdered sugar
4 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 c. diced dried cranberries

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare (well grease) 9×13 baking pan.
-In bowl of stand mixer, beat butter and brown sugar until fluffy and light in color, about 2 minutes.
-Add eggs, vanilla, ginger, and salt; beat well.
-Gradually mix in flour just until combined.
-Remove bowl from mixer and fold in cranberries and white chocolate.
-Pour batter into prepared pan and spread evenly.
-Place in oven and bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until cake is barely light brown on the edges.
-Remove from oven and let cool.
-Meanwhile make the frosting.
-In stand mixer bowl, combine cream cheese, powdered sugar, lemon juice and vanilla and beat on low until smooth.
-When the cake has cooled invert onto cutting board and spread frosting over top, evenly.
-Sprinkle top with diced cranberries.
-Place cake on cutting board into the fridge to set, at least 1 hour.-Remove cake from fridge and, using a long knife, carefully slice the cake lengthwise (the long way) through the middle.
-Slice the cake across the width three times making a total of eight rectangular slices.
-Slice each of those rectangles diagonally creating 16 triangular slices.
-Or, really, just slice ’em in squares. The triangle will make it look like Starbucks. But I didn’t care when I sliced mine 🙂
-Serve immediately or place into the fridge to keep for later.

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

Leave a Reply

