RSS Feed

$50 Smores Cupcakes

Posted on

Y’all. These are SO YUMMY! And yes, there are a few steps. But I promise, nothing too complicated. You should make them tonight. And then send me a few.

(Just a little bragging…I made these for a dessert auction, and they sold for $50! So, henceforth, I shall call them the $50 Smores Cupcakes. Because I can 🙂 )

Basically, you first just make a graham cracker crust, with some graham cracker crumbs, and a bit of butter. Smoosh that into the bottom of your cupcake liner, and bake for a few minutes.

Then, use your favorite chocolate cupcake recipe (I’ve included mine below). Spoon that in over the graham cracker crust, and bake it up.

Then, you whip up a marshmallow frosting. I found a really simple recipe that required no measuring of temperature. Somehow, whenever I have to use a candy thermometer, everything falls apart. Pipe on the frosting…

And then, you torch it! Sorry, I have no pictures of the actual torching process. Believe me, I would have likely burned down my house had I tried to juggle a cupcake, butane torch and a camera. But just use a creme brulee torch, and you’re good. If you don’t have one…well…I hesitate to even suggest it, but you could just broil them in the oven. But…ACK, broiling scares me! But if you’re okay with it, that’s another option…just keep a close eye on it. And do like I do, and have a chair at the ready under the closest smoke detector so you can rip out the battery when it goes off 🙂

And there you have it. Buttery, chocolatey, toasty goodness. You can also do these in miniature form…they’re adorable! I like to finish mine off with a square of Hershey chocolate stuck on the top. So fun!

S’mores Cupcakes

Ingredients:
For the graham cracker crust:
1½ cups graham cracker crumbs
¼ cup sugar
5 1/3 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted
8 oz. bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

For the cake:
2 cups sugar
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cocoa
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup boiling water

For the marshmallow frosting:
8 large egg whites
2 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350° F.  Line two cupcake pans with paper liners.  In a small mixing bowl, combine the graham cracker crumbs, sugar and melted butter; mix well with a fork.  Drop about 1 tablespoon of the graham cracker mixture in the bottom of each cupcake liner and press down to line the bottom. (Note: I found the bottom of my squeeze bottle to be the perfect size to do this job neatly and quickly.) Sprinkle a small amount of the chopped chocolate on top of the graham cracker crusts.  Bake for 5 minutes.  Remove from the oven, and maintain the oven temperature.

To make the cake batter Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of mixer 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin). Pour batter into prepared cupcake liners. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool completely.

To make the frosting,place egg whites, sugar, and cream of tartar in the heatproof bowl of an electric mixer. Set over a saucepan with simmering water. Whisk constantly until sugar is dissolved and whites are warm to the touch, 3 to 4 minutes. Transfer bowl to electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, and beat, starting on low speed, gradually increasing to high, until stiff, glossy peaks form, 5 to 7 minutes. Add vanilla, and mix until combined.

Frost cooled cupcakes as desired.  Brown with a kitchen torch and garnish with chocolate segments (optional).

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

4 responses »

  1. Impressive! And now I have a new craving. Thank you.

    I can’t wait until we open the east/west locations of our bakery/cupcake shop.

    Reply
  2. Argh! I’m still torn that these were auctioned to the children. You would have totally made $200 if adults could have bid. Will you please make them again and bring me one, because you’re a better baker than me?

    Reply
  3. these look SO tasty!!
    Does this icing stay put with transportation and sitting at room temp for a few hours? I mean, did you have problems with it falling/melting a couple hours later or anything? It just looks a little like whipped cream from the recipe…

    Reply
    • just-another-foodie

      It’s actually not whipped cream at all…more like a marshmallow cream. If you toast it, as I did, you shouldn’t have any problems with them sitting out at room temperature. You probably wouldn’t want them sitting out in the sun though, as I would imagine they would melt like a marshmallow would. But toasted, they were fine at room temp all day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

