RSS Feed

Corn and Wild Rice Casserole

Posted on

Okay, so, apparently, this post has just been sitting here, in “draft land” for, oh, close to a year. Which, my friends, is a travesty.

I made it last Thanksgiving. Actually, I mixed it up, and then set it in the backseat and drove to my friend’s house, where I was having t’giving dinner. But before I got there it sloshed everywhere. Sometimes I still find corn in my backseat.

So don’t be like me.

But this is a great recipe anytime! Especially right now, where you can still buy corn on the cob at the grocery store and not pay a crapload of money for it.

Mmmmm, corn.

So yeah, simple recipe, really rich, but a GREAT side! You should make it right now. And then bring me some. It is that good people!

Fresh Corn and Wild Rice Casserole
(adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks)

2 cups cooked wild rice
3 to 4 cups fresh corn kernels (scraped off the cob)
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup heavy cream
1 to 2 teaspoons kosher salt (or table salt to taste)
cayenne pepper to taste
6 tablespoons butter
1/2 to 1 cup milk, for thinning

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cook wild rice in chicken broth until almost done. Rice should still have a firm (but not crunchy) bite. Drain rice and allow to cool.

Scrape corn kernels into a large mixing bowl. Add in cream, butter, beaten eggs, salt, and cayenne pepper. Stir together.

Add in cooled wild rice, stirring gently. Splash in milk so that mixture is stirrable, but not overly juicy.
Taste for seasonings, adding more salt or cayenne pepper if needed.

Bake for 30 to 45 minutes, or until just turning golden brown on top and mixture is somewhat set (it will firm up after you take it out…you’ll think it’s underdone, but really it’s not).

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

One response »

  1. That looks soooo good. Will you make it and bring it to me?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

