RSS Feed

Wedding Cake–The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

Posted on

So, I’ve been scarce around here lately. I’ve cooked and taken pictures, so I do have some posts forthcoming. But, a lot of my cooking time was spent…making a wedding cake.

First of all, don’t be too impressed. It was a small cake, since the bride and groom just wanted something small that they could cut for the reception–they’re not big cake people, so this didn’t need to serve everyone.

Gosh, it seemed so simple. But y’all. That’s a lot of pressure, making someone’s wedding cake!

So a few weeks before the wedding, I started doing trial runs. And the first trial. Dear Lord in heaven it looked awful. Don’t believe me? See for yourself?

First, the cake recipe I thought I was going to use turned out AWFUL.

And yes, I took my anger out on it. Stupid cake.

Second cake I made turned out okay. But then I set out to perfect the frosting. I made two different kinds and…well…see for yourself.

Um, so this is when I started to panic. I scrapped the two recipes I had tried, and did a LOT of research, and even toyed with the recipe of fondant (more like fonDON’T). With much trepidation, I set out to make another test cake.

Thankfully, this one turned out a bit better.

Finally, the weekend of the wedding arrived. And at the last minute, I changed my cake recipe. Don’t ask me why, I just did. But I did stick with the frosting from test cake #2. The night before I baked up the cake, sliced each layer to make a double layer for a filling, double wrapped it in saran wrap, and stuck it in the fridge. And the morning of the wedding I was up bright and early to make the frosting. I ended up doing a crumb coat, sticking it in the freezezr for a few minutes, and then doing the second coat. And since the wedding was about an hour’s drive, I stuck the whole thing in the freezer until I left, and just added the flowers when I got to the wedding.

All in all, I think it turned out okay. And I learned a few things.

1-Flowers can cover a multitude of sins.

2-I’m much better at making things taste good than look good.

So would I do it again? Sure. But I’d much rather make a bunch of yummy cakes than one pretty one any day 🙂

Cake
2 packages (18.25 ounces) plain white cake mix (I KNOW, but trust me) preferably without added pudding
2 cups whole milk
2 sticks butter, melted (16 tablespoons)
6 whole eggs
4 teaspoons vanilla extract
seedless raspberry jam

Preheat oven to 350. Grease and flour one 6-inch square cake pan and one 9-inch square cake pan.

Mix all ingredients (except for the raspberry jam) with an electric mixer on low for 1 minute. Scrape down bowl and beat on medium for 2 more minutes. Batter should be well blended.

Now, I decided to bake half layers…so, I filled each pan a little less than half full, baked those for around 20-28 minutes, cooled ten minutes, put them on a cooling rack, and then repeated the whole process. But if you’re good at slicing the cakes in half, then go for it!

Frosting
1 1/2 cups shortening
1/2 cup butter, room temp
2 lb. bag of confectioners sugar
2 teaspoons clear imitation vanilla extract
6 fluid ounces heavy cream

  1. Cream shortening and butter until fluffy. Add confectioner’s sugar and continue creaming until well blended.
  2. Add salt, vanilla, and whipping cream blend on low speed until moistened. Add additional whipping cream if necessary (up to 2 ounces). Beat at high speed until frosting is fluffy.

Assemble
Frost bottom half of larger layer, put on a layer of raspberry jam, and then sandwich top half, frosting it so it’s one big cake. Same process with the small top layer. It won’t be pretty yet. I highly recommend getting a small, 6-inch plastic cake “plate” so when you layer the two you don’t stick your hands all in it. Not that I did that.

Pop them in the fridge or freezer, just to harden up the frosting. Do a second coat, cleaning off the spatula often, and dipping it in hot water so it’ll make a smoother layer. Layer the smaller cake on the larger one. Clean up your thumbprints. Then plop the whole thing in the freezer. It’ll get nice and hard and you can more easily smooth out your mistakes.

Last step is to just cover that bad boy with flowers. Seriously. Nobody will notice your mistakes if there are pretty flowers!

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

One response »

  1. You did a great job, Brandy. It looked awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

