RSS Feed

Sorta-Cinnamon Rolls

Posted on

Okay y’all. Someone at work requested that I bring in cinnamon rolls today. He bribed me with the promise of free coffee, so I relented. But I do not have time to make real cinnamon rolls during the week. Too much rising time. They’re great for the weekend, but I just can’t manage my time that well on a work day.

So I cheated. And I would be embarrassed if they hadn’t turned out so well!

I don’t really have a recipe for these, exactly. I read a bunch of similar recipes, then just kind of winged it. First of all, thaw a box of puff pastry overnight in the fridge. Yes, store-bought puff pastry. Because honestly? I can’t do it any better than Peppridge Farm.

Carefully unfold the pastry, and press where the seams are, so when you roll it up, it won’t crack. Brush the sheet of pastry with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Sprinkle on 1/3 cup of brown sugar, and cinnamon (didn’t measure the cinnamon, just sprinkled it all over). You can also add toasted pecans and raisins, if you like. I did pecans on one sheet, but I’m more of a cinnamon roll purist.

Then, you roll it up. Carefully. Oh so carefully. Too tight and they bake up funny. Too loose and they fall apart when you cut them. So, find your happy place. Don’t forget to pinch the seam closed, because these will unroll while baking really easily. Then, slice the log o’ cinnamony goodness into 6 pieces, and transfer each piece to a parchment paper lined baking sheet.

Then, you just repeat the process with the second sheet of pastry. Butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, optional filling goodies, roll, slice.

I baked these for about 20 minutes at 350. Just keep an eye on it, so they don’t get too crispy. Because that is the one thing about this recipe. It’s puff pastry, not sweet roll dough. Therefore, the consistency is a bit different, and I think it can go from chewy to crispy really quickly. Just watch it until it’s the consistency you want.

For the finishing touch, I just made up some cream cheese frosting/glaze to go on them. Because what’s a cinnamon roll without cream cheese frosting?

See, poor, naked, cinnamon roll:

Frosted, gooey, yummy cinnamon roll:

Is there any question? The frosting was just 3 tblsp softened cream cheese, 3 tblsp milk or buttermilk (I prefer buttermilk) and 1 to 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar (depending on the consistency you want). Drizzle/spread the frosting on warm, but not hot, rolls.

Then, you eat them.

Yum.

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

3 responses »

  1. Can I come work with you so that I get to bribe you to bake for me? 🙂

    Reply
  2. that looks so good, i love cinnamon rolls!

    Reply
  3. Wow, this is super creative. I wish I could try it but I don’t have puff pastry. 😦

    I think your blog is genius. You deserve more credit for it. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

