RSS Feed

Healthy Breakfast Bars

Posted on

Remember a while ago when I endeavored to make granola because I have a crazy friend who runs all the time and I wanted to give her a goodie before her first marathon?

Well, said friend is weird and ran ANOTHER marathon several months ago. Weirdo. So I endeavored to make something else for her to snack on before the big race. So I bought all of these crazy ingredients and made some kind of healthy breakfast bar. Moister than a granola bar. Pretty dense. But she told me they were good.

Since this was a new endeavor into the world of crazy wheaty, proteiny cooking, I luckily had some help.

Meet Jay Robb. He makes whey protein. Which, luckily I found in small sample packets, since I refused to buy a big tub of protein that I will never use again.

Doesn’t Jay look all healthy and fit. I cropped out his bulging biceps. But trust me, they were there. It was really quite impressive.

But Jay wasn’t my only helper. There was also Bob. Bob picks his own wheat. Or something like that. He helped me with my unprocessed wheat bran.

I also used ground flaxseed in this recipe. There was no helper on my bag of flaxseed. But have you seen ground flaxseed? It looks like this:

That’s why I still have a bunch of it in my pantry.

To all of this weird healthy stuff, I added a bunch of yummy dried fruits and nuts. Look how pretty!

But for some reason I forgot to take a picture of the completed bar. If you go here, where I got the original recipe, you can see how pretty hers are. Mine weren’t quite that pretty. And a note on the recipe below. I had to cook mine longer. Maybe because of the altitude? And even then, they came out pretty moist and dense. But maybe they were supposed to?

So if you hate them, I think you should blame her 🙂

Healthy Breakfast Bars

Ingredients:
1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 c. oats
1/4 c. wheat bran
1 scoop protein powder (I used a 30 gram single serving packet of vanilla whey protein)
2 Tbsp ground golden flax seed
3 Tbsp brown sugar, packed
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
small pinch salt
1/4 c. unsweetened applesauce
1 Tbsp honey
2 Tbsp oil
1/2 c. pumpkin puree
1 ripe banana, mashed
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 c. chopped dried fruit (cherries, blueberries, cranberries, raisins, dates, figs, or a mix of any)
1/4 c. chopped almonds

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 315 degrees and prepare 8×8 baking pan.
-In medium bowl, combine flour, oats, bran, protein powder, flax seed, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.
-In bowl of stand mixer, combine pumpkin, banana, applesauce, honey, oil and vanilla until thoroughly blended.
-Add brown sugar and mix until completely incorporated.
-Add flour mixture and blend until just combined.
-Remove bowl from mixer and stir in dried fruit and nuts.
Spread batter into pan and bake for 20 minutes.
-Cool and cut into 16 bars.

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

2 responses »

  1. Those healthy bars sound great!

    Reply
  2. This is too funny, your team guys! I’ll bet the bars were great, but, alas, though I too have crazy friends who run marathons, my husband and sons may think these bars too healthy! Personally, I love all those flavors you put together. Wow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

