RSS Feed

Please accept my peace offering

Posted on

Remember when I used to post fun recipes on here? Yeah, me too. So, life got crazy. But, I have LOTS of recipes I want to share with you! So let’s just pretend there wasn’t that month plus gap in my posts. Okay? Thanks 🙂

Today, I will bring you a recent recipe. I was home sick one day, and was watching Everyday Italian on the Food Network. Can I just say that Giada De Laurentiis is one of my favorite people ever. I wish she was my neighbor. I would eat at her house every. single. day. She would probably eventually move or get a guard dog, but for those few short weeks before she wised up, I would stuff myself in pasta and tomatoes and yummy goodness.

What was I talking about? Oh, right. On the episode of Everyday Italian that I was watching, Giada made Chocolate-Strawberry Paninis. Yes, she made a sandwich out of pound cake slices, Nutella and strawberries. Haven’t recently become a fan of Nutella (by fan, I mean I could eat it at every meal), I was excited to try it. And since I had a brunch coming up soon, I knew this would be the perfect opportunity.

This recipe is SUPER easy. First, you buy a Sara Lee Poundcake. You could make your own, but the firmness of Sara’s cake is perfect. Nobody does it like Sara Lee. Or is it nobody doesn’t like Sara Lee? I can never remember.

Anywho, slice up the pound cake. I got around 15 slices out of mine (excluding the ends). Remember, you will eventually cook them in some kind of press, and they’ll be flattened out a bit. Next, the Nutella. Sweet, yummy Nutella.

Spread the Nutella on each slice of the pound cake. Not too thick. Not too thin. You don’t want it to ooze all over the place when you cook it. But it’s Nutella. So don’t go too light either. That would be a shame. Next, slice up the strawberries, and put about three slices on half of the  pound cake.

Seriously? Could it get much better than this? I think this exact dish is served in heaven.

Then, sandwich the slices together. And try not to eat it all RIGHT NOW.

I forgot to take a picture of the grilling party. Maybe because I was too busy trying to grease a very hot panini press with a melting stick of butter. I would recommend using butter spray, if you have it. Or maybe melting some butter and brushing it on. I would not recommend sticking your hand between two smoking hot pieces of metal and smearing it on that way. Oh, and if you don’t have a panini press, you could always use a George Foreman grill. Or, you could even fry it up in the skillet, and just smoosh it.

Regardless, it is good. Just look at my friend enjoying the yummy, strawberry’y, Nutella’y goodness!

Chocolate-Strawberry Panini
Recipe adapted from Giada De Laurentiis, Everyday Italian

1/2 cup chocolate-hazelnut spread (recommended: Nutella)

12-16 slices pound cake (from 1 (10.75-ounce) loaf

6 fresh strawberries, hulled and very thinly sliced

Butter-flavored nonstick cooking spray, or melted butter to spread

Heat a panini grill to medium according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Spread the chocolate-hazelnut spread over all of the pound cake slices. Arrange the sliced strawberries over 6 cake slices. Cover with the remaining cake slices.

Spray panini grill with nonstick spray and grill each panino until the pound cake is crisp and golden and the fillings are warm, about 2 minutes. Cut each panino in half and serve.

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

One response »

  1. That’s funny…Kevin wishes Giada were HIS neighbor, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

