RSS Feed

On the Sixth Day of Christmas…Chocolate Revel Bars

Posted on

Wednesday night, I sat down with my cookbooks to try to find a recipe for the sixth day of Christmas. My go-to cookbook is always my America’s Test Kitchen one. It is the BEST COOKBOOK EVER. You should go buy it right now.

Go ahead, I’ll wait.

But I’ve been feeling like I’ve been ignoring my former go-to cookbook, the Better Homes and Gardens one. You know, the red and white plaid one? So I decided to flip through it and see what I could find.

And there, I found Chocolate Revel Bars. Oh sweet, yummy chocolate revel bars.

Have you not heard of them? Don’t worry, I hadn’t either. But the ingredients seemed like a good combination. Oatmeal. Butter. Brown sugar. Chocolate. Sweetened condensed milk. Pecans. That could work.

So I put it all together, popped it in the oven, and this is what I got.

They’re gooey and rich and oh so good! My favorite reaction to them was: “THESE ARE SICK.” She meant sick in the good way. Because that’s what all the cool kids are saying these days.

Chocolate Revel Bars
1 cup butter, softened
2 cups packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 cups quick cooking oats
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate pieces
1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk (1 1/4 cup)
1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
2 teaspoons vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350. Set aside 2 tablespoons butter. In a bowl beat remaining butter with an electric mixer for 30 seconds. Add brown sugar and baking soda. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl. Beat in eggs and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Beat in as much of the flour as you can with mixer. Stir in remaining flour and oats.

For filling, in a saucepan combine chocolate, reserved butter, and condensed milk. Cook and stir over low heat until chocolate melts. Remove from heat. Stir in nuts and 2 teaspoons of vanilla.

Press two-thirds (about 31/3 cups) of the oat mixture into the bottom of an ungreased 15x10x1 baking pan. Spread filling evenly over top of the oat mixture. Dot remaining oat mixture on top of the filling.

Bake for about 25 minutes or until the top is lightly browned. The chocolate will still look wet. This is OK and exactly how you want it so you don’t over bake! Cool in a rack. Cut into bars. These are yummy right out of the oven. But, they’re more of a plate and fork bar, as the chocolate is yummy and gooey 🙂

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

2 responses »

  1. Wow! That’s all I need to say! Wow! Heavenly!

    Reply
  2. Those look amazing. I am sad I missed those!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

