RSS Feed

Oh my word that’s good Chocolate Frosting

Posted on

I recently shared my favorite cupcake recipes with you. And I still stand by those cupcakes. But, i will admit that I didn’t love the frosting on those cupcakes. It was kind of watery, didn’t really fluff up, and I didn’t think the taste was all that great.

Recently, I made a bunch of cupcakes for work. I used the same white cupcake recipe, but this time, I decided to go with a plain chocolate frosting. And I will never look back again.

Y’all, this frosting was so good. Literally, the best frosting I’ve ever had. Rich and creamy. Depth of flavor. In short, soooooo good.

As most of my best recipes are, this one is from America’s Test Kitchen. I slightly tweaked it (semisweet chocolate instead of milk chocolate–you can use whichever you fancy) and my techniques were a little different (they used a food processor).

But who cares about any of that. I could still eat this frosting with a spoon, right out of the mixing bowl.

Maybe I did.

Chocolate Frosting (adapted from America’s Test Kitchen)

10 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped (or whatever chocolate you prefer)
1 tablespoon corn syrup
Pinch salt
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into 8 pieces and chilled

1. Place the chocolate, corn syrup, and salt in the bowl of a mixer. Heat heavy cream to just boiling , and pour over chocolate mixture, with the mixer on low. Process for one minute.

2. Add the confections’ sugar slowly and continue to process until combined, about 30 seconds. With the mixer running add the butter, one piece at a time, and process until smooth.

3. Let the frosting cool at room temperature, stirring frequently until thick, about 1 hour.

You can make this up to 2 days ahead of time, and refrigerate, covered tightly. Before using, let stand at room temprature to soften and then whisk briefly to re-fluff.

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

Leave a Reply

