RSS Feed

My New Favorite Soup

Posted on

I looooooove soup. Living in snowy Colorado has only intensified my love for soup. It’s so warm and filling and makes me feel all happy on the inside.

And when I saw this recipe for a sweet potato soup with greens and sausage, I must admit I was intrigued. But Smitten Kitchen has never steered me wrong before. So, I decided to make this for a fall dinner I was going to.

My friends were skeptical when I told them what I was making. There may have even been some wrinkled noses. I didn’t even care.

And for once, I was actually organized in this whole cooking thing. The night before, I chopped up my onionsand both kinds of potatoes and put them in bags in the fridge to just dump in the pot the next day. Brilliant, I know.

Oh, and I like this picture because it makes me look like I have an alien hand.

After work on the night of the dinner, I threw the sausage in the pot, and it filled the kitchen with the best smell. I used smoked chicken sausage, but you could use whatever you like. The original recipe used chorrizo. I also used kale, but that’s because I had kale on hand. You could also use spinach.

After the sausage is cooked, drain on a paper towel. Add to the drippings the onions, spices, etc., making sure to scrape up brown bits. Then add the potatoes and chicken broth. (Exact instructions are at the bottom!)

Finally, add the kale and cook it all until everything is tender. If you use spinach, add it closer to the end, since it won’t take as long to cook as the kale. A few minutes before serving, put the sausage back in.

I don’t want to understate just how yummy this soup. One of the biggest critics even had two bowls. Her exact quote? “This is not the thing that I was expecting to like tonight.”

Job well done 🙂

Sweet Potato and Sausage Soup (Adapted from SmittenKitchen.com)

Makes 8 servings

  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 10- to 11-ounce fully cooked smoked chicken sausage, cut into slices, then quartered
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 pounds red-skinned sweet potatoes (yams; about 2 large), peeled, quartered lengthwise, cut crosswise into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • 1 pound white-skinned potatoes (2 medium), peeled, quarteredlengthwise, cut crosswise into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • 6 cups low-salt chicken broth
  • 1 bunch kale, rinsed and roughly chopped
  • 2 cans of white beans, drained
  • cayenne pepper, to taste

Heat 2 tablespoons oil in heavy large pot over medium-high heat. Add sausage; cook until brown, stirring often, about 8 minutes. Transfer sausage to paper towels to drain.

Add onions and garlic to pot and cook until translucent, stirring often, about 5 minutes. Add all potatoes and cook until beginning to soften, stirring often, about 12 minutes.

Add broth; bring to boil, scraping up browned bits. Reduce heat to medium-low, add kale, beans, cover, and simmer until potatoes are soft, stirring occasionally, about 20 minutes.

Using potato masher, mash some of potatoes in pot. Add browned sausage to soup. Stir in remaining 1 tablespoon oil and a dash of cayenne pepper. Season with salt and pepper. Divide among bowls and serve.

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

2 responses »

  1. my oh my, that do look good.

    Reply
  2. I am a big fan of Deb/Smitten Kitchen too and must admit that I thought this soup looked very unappealing too. I am glad to see you all like it and will print it out for next fall. I made a butternut squash soup that I had a similar feeling about and was proven wrong with that one too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

