RSS Feed

Caribbean Spiced Chicken Burgers

Posted on

Have you ever had chicken burgers? Burgers made out of ground chicken? No? Oh, you must make them now. And I just happen to have a recipe for them right here.

The best thing about this recipe is the flavor. Tons of spices here. And the perfect combination of them.

See those spices? SO. GOOD. Then you marinade those yummy burgers in red wine vinegar, soy sauce and brown sugar. So simple. So delicious. Top it with a fresh tomato (no salmonella, of course) and some lettuce, and you’ve got yourself one of the best burgers ever.

I served them with corn on the cob and roasted red potatoes. And what may have been the best fruit tart ever.

Caribbean Spiced Chicken Burgers
(adapted from http://goodthingscatered.blogspot.com/)

Ingredients:
1 lb. ground chicken
4 Tbsp soy sauce
4 Tbsp red wine vinegar
2 Tbsp packed brown sugar
2 tsp fresh thyme
1/2 tsp garlic salt (I didn’t have garlic salt, so I just did ¼ garlic powder and ¼ salt)
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp smoked paprika (YUM!)
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1/4 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp allspice
1/8 tsp ground ginger

Directions:
-In small bowl, combine thyme, salt, garlic, onion, paprika, pepper, allspice, ginger and set aside.
-Divide ground chicken into four 1/4 lb rounds. Shape rounds into 1/2 inch thick patties (about 5 inches wide).
-In high sided dish or airtight storage bag, combine soy sauce, vinegar, and brown sugar.
-Mix to dissolve sugar into liquids.
-Coat both sides of chicken patties with spice mixture and place into liquid. (Okay, this is the part where next time I might just mix the spice mixture from step 1 into the ground chicken.)
-Seal and place in fridge for about 1 hour to marinate.
-Turn grill on medium high.
-Remove chicken patties from marinade, shake to remove excess and place onto grill.
-Cook, flipping once, until cooked through, about 15 minutes. (Maybe less?)

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Be our (my) guest (recipes at the end) @ And in the end…there is love.

  2. Wowy Katowy, those look insanely good, Brandy. In the last couple of years I’ve sampled a variety of ground turkey burgers. I don’t remember trying ground chicken or even noticing it at the grocery store. I will definitely be trying these, if not with ground chicken, then with ground turkey. I’m particularly intrigued by “smoked paprika.” Is it hard to find? And what about the ground chicken? Was it a special request from your local butcher or something I should be able to find? Thanks, Brandy. It looks like a winner!

    Reply
  3. Oh, they are insanely good, Curt! I actually got my ground chicken at a Super Target. I would think many grocery stores would carry it. And I got my smoked paprika at the same store. Let me know if you try it Curt, I’d love to hear if you like it!

    Reply
  4. I haven’t found ground turkey or smoked paprika at any of my regular store stops, so I guess I need to check out Super Target. A new location just opened a few miles from our house.

    I received a new gas grill for a Father’s Day gift and I’m really getting into grilling now. I forgot how insanely good grilling tastes. I thinking of trying this recipe on the grill!

    Reply
  5. I just realized I used the phrase “insanely good” at least two too many times in my posts. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Awww! yay! I’m so glad you liked them. They are a big hit at my house too. 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  7. I still haven’t found ground chicken or smoke paprika (I used regular), but I used this recipe with ground turkey. As you recommended, I put the spice mixture in with the ground turkey. They turned out great. Thank you for the idea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

