RSS Feed

Moo Dang that was good…

Posted on

So I stole that blog title from my friend Becky. But I think it may have been at least partially my idea. So whatever.

Once a month or so, I get together with some friends for an international dinner. We pick a country, and each bring a dish. I usually bring dessert. Because that’s how I roll.

This week, we were doing Thai food, and I made this yummy mango sticky rice.

I’ve never done rice for dessert. But the recipe seemed pretty simple. Boil some short-grain rice (I used jasmine) for about 15-20 minutes, until all of the water is absorbed. While that’s happening, break out the mango. I like to use the Martha Stewart technique for mangos, which involves cutting it away from the core, then making skinny slices and scooping them out with a “sharp spoon.” Um, Martha, what is a sharp spoon? Isn’t sharp the antithesis of a spoon. You and your crazy moon language, Martha. But whatever, it worked. For the most part.

Also while your rice is cooking, you mix some coconut milk with sugar and a dash of salt. Bring to a slow simmer. And just a warning. Coconut milk doesn’t boil like anything I’ve ever worked with. It starts to rumble, then sends up giant, splattery bubbles. So when you hear that rumbling, begin to stir it. Once you get a good boil, dump it into the pot with your cooked rice. Stir together, and place a lid over the pot, letting the rice soak up the coconutty goodness. Yum.

Ah, then came the serving part. I LOVE plating food! I found the cutest little bowls at Target that were perfect for this dish. They were small, and kind of Asian looking. Oh, and they were cheap. It was the perfect trifecta of awesome.

Once the rice is cook/room temperature (after about an hour), I heaping quarter cups of the mixture into balls, and put them in the bowls. Then, you make a coconut sauce with more coconut milk, sugar, and corn starch. Drizzle over the coconut, to your taste. Finish off with the mango, a few sesame seeds, and some toasted coconut. I also served this with coconut sorbet. So light, fruity, and yummy!

Thai Sweet Sticky Rice with Mango

  • 1 1/2 cups uncooked short-grain white rice (I used jasmine rice)
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut milk (I used light)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch
  • 3 mangos, peeled and sliced
  • 1 tablespoon toasted sesame seeds
  • Toasted coconut (for garnish)
  • Coconut ice cream (optional)

  1. Combine the rice and water in a saucepan; bring to a boil; cover and reduce heat to low. Simmer until water is absorbed, 15 to 20 minutes.
  2. While the rice cooks, mix together 1 1/2 cups coconut milk, 3/4 cup sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon salt in a saucepan over medium heat; bring to a boil; remove from heat and set aside. Stir the cooked rice into the coconut milk mixture; cover. Allow to cool for 1 hour.
  3. Make a sauce by mixing together 1/2 cup coconut milk, 1 tablespoon sugar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and the corn starch in a saucepan; bring to a boil.
  4. Place the sticky rice on a serving dish. Arrange the mangos on top of the rice. Pour the sauce over the mangos and rice. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and toasted coconut. Serve with coconut ice cream if desired.
About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: Moo Dang, that was good… @ And in the end…there is love.

  2. Partially your idea? Try totally. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I loved this dish! Thanks for sharing the recipe here!

    Reply
  4. I must make this. I love all things coconut and mango. Your pictures are better than mine. I always forget to capture a few steps.

    Reply
  5. Brandy–thanks for this recipe. It’s one of my favorites to eat, so I’m excited to try to duplicate it in the kitchen. Your food pictures are awesome, as usual.

    Reply
  6. Sadly, because of my new 2008 eating habits, I’ll have to wait to try this one, but it looks a-w-e-s-o-m-e! Paired with the coconut icecream, this dessert sounds like culinary perfection.

    Reply
  7. Hey Brandy, I read your blog occasionally and I’m excited that you have started a food blog! I made this coconut rice tonight (although minus the extra sauce) and it was so much easier than the recipe on epicurious looked (it involved soaking rice overnight and using cheesecloth and a strainer and…). Thanks for sharing your recipes!

    Reply
  8. Although this recipe is simple, it does not use the correct type of rice! The actual recipe calls for thai sticky/glutinous rice, which is very sticky and does indeed require soaking overnight and steaming.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

