RSS Feed

Creamy tomato sauce with shrimp over pasta

Posted on

Okay, I don’t know why I keep doing this with brand new recipes. It kind of complicates things. But this sounded SO good, I had to make it. And it was good. But do you flipping know how long it takes to peel and de-vein shrimp. A long time. Which sucks.

So anyway, here’s the play-by-play.

First, peel and de-vein your shrimp. I don’t have pictures of this step because I needed both hands. I actually needed several pairs of hands, but whatever.

Once the shrimp is ready, rinse it.


Ohhh, pretty water.

Next, put some some olive oil and butter in a skillet. I don’t like to measure butter, so I do this. Because it’s fun.


Mmmmm, butter. I’m from the south, what can I say.

Next, dump in the shrimp (this is a very technical recipe. I literally have no measurements. Fun, huh!)

Stir stir stir. Until they’re pink and tranluscent. Be careful not to overcook. Like I know what that means.

Shrimp are cute when they’re pink.

Oh, and somewhere in there, you should put on a pot of boiling water, and dump in some pasta. A pound or so. Actually, a little less, I had quite a bit left over. Maybe 3/4 a pound?


Ohhhh, pretty steam. And you know why I picked those little bow-tie shaped pasta? Because they’re pretty. I’m such a girl.

Take out the shrimp and set it aside. Then, chop up some onions, and dump them in the skillet with some garlic. I was supposed to use white onions, but I like green ones. Oh, and that’s all I had.

Let it all get pretty and brown. Then, dump in about a 1/2 cup of chicken broth, a small can of tomato sauce (or you could use your own homemade sauce, but I didn’t have any on hand) and a cup or so of evaporated milk. You can use cream, but I’m trying to eat healthy. So, fat-free evaporated milk it was.

To this, add basil and parsley. I didn’t have fresh, so I had to use dry. I didn’t measure, just dumped it in, tasted, dumped some more. Then add some salt and pepper. Stir it all up, and stick your face over it and just breathe it in. Yum.


Pretty bubbles.

Take that shrimp that you took out earlier, and chop it up and put it in your sauce. Careful, they’re slippery fellows.


Hey, how’d you get in there you sneaky little shrimp.

Stir some more. Breathe in the steam some more. Mmmmmm.

Next, drain the pasta, and throw that in too.

Okay, so mine wasn’t super-thick, because I didn’t use the cream. So, I put the lid on, and just let it simmer for a little while.

Then, because I was hungry and bored, I tried to take artsy fartsy pictures of the condensation on the lid. I’m a dork.

Finally, it was done. Plate it up, and enjoy.

Yummy! This was really good, and I’m not a huge seafood fan. I may have even done some moaning with my first bite. Which is kind of embarrassing. But really? I don’t care!

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

2 responses »

  1. This looks great. I really enjoy the pictures too. Now what I really want to see is a video of you taking pictures and cooking at the same time. 🙂

    Are there tomatoes in this? Tomato is in the title of the recipe, and the sauce turns sort of an orange color, like there might be something tomatoey in the mixture, but you don’t mention adding it. Is it the shrimp that turns the sauce orange?

    One could even use olive oil in place of butter when sauteeing the onion, for an even healthier take. I really like the idea. And now I’m really hungry.

    Reply
  2. just-another-foodie

    Wow, Curt, I can’t believe I left out the tomato sauce. I just fixed it. Glad you caught it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

