RSS Feed

Happy (Late) Valentine’s Day

Posted on

My mom’s favorite cookies are those Peppridge Farm Geneva cookies. So, last Mother’s Day, I decided to invent my own recipe for this cookie. And they came out darn good, if I do say so myself. And for this Valentine’s Day, I decided to make them again. And document it. Because, apparently, I’m obsessed with taking pictures of food.


The basis for these cookies is a shortbread base. Which, contains butter. LOTS of butter. That’s why they’re so good 🙂


So you mix the butter with confectioners sugar. Yum.


Mix until it’s nice and creamy and fluffy. You know you want to stick your finger right in there and eat up that buttery goodness.


Then you add in some flour and a bit of salt, and mix it with the mixer, then with your hands, until you have a big ol’ blob of dough. I really wanted to play with it like play-doh, but there was no time for such nonsense.


Roll our your dough (it’s a bit sticky), and cut out shapes. I did heart. Because it’s Valentine’s Day. And I love me some Valentine’s Day.


Pop them in the oven. While they’re cooking, chop up some pecans.


And melt some semi-sweet chocolate chips in the microwave. Mmmmm, chocolate.


Take the cookies out when they start to get a little brown on the edges. That one in the bottom corner was a little thin. So it got a little brown. Poor little heart.


Put a dollop of chocolate on each cookie. Holy crap that looks good.


Then you spread it out. And try not to eat too much of the chocolate. Because you may start to feel sick. I’m just guessing though.


Finally, sprinkle your pecans on top of the still soft chocolate. Press lightly into the cookies with a spatula.


*drool*


Finally, just let it all cool. Then, try to control yourself, and box them up and mail them off. DO NOT eat them all yourself. Seriously.

Well, that’s it. Happy Valentine’s Day.

Brandy’s Geneva Cookies Smile

1 cup butter
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
Pecans, chopped fine

DIRECTIONS
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
2. In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and the sugar. (I had to soften it, because I had butter flying all over the kitchen when I didn’t). Slowly add the flour and salt, mixing well. Roll out dough with a rolling pin on a floured surface until it is 1/4 inch thick. Cut into desired shapes using cookie cutters. Place on cookie sheet and prick with a fork.
3. Bake for 5 to 8 minutes, or until light brown at the edges.
4. Melt 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips in the microwave. I set it for 30 seconds at a time until it was smooth. I also used the good stuff–Ghirardelli’s (or however you spell it). Put melted chocolate on top of cookies.
5. Chop pecans and sprinkle on top. Press into chocolate lightly, then refrigerate until chocolate is hard.

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

Leave a Reply

