RSS Feed

Granola

Posted on

So, I’m a baker. I love to make cakes and cookies and pies. Super healthy stuff, you know? But then, I had to go and move to Colorado. The land of granola. I still make plenty of butter-laden goodies. But I’ve had to broaden my cooking skills. Especially when it came to my friend Krissy. Krissy’s a runner. She’s pretty much amazing. Last year, she ran a marathon. So, I wanted to give her a little gift before the race. But you can’t give chocolate chip cookies to someone who’s about to run a marathon.

So, I made granola. And, doggone it, it’s good stuff. So I made it again tonight. And I will share it with you.

Making granola is easy. It’s just a dump and stir recipe. Mine has oatmeal, almonds, walnuts, maple syrup, brown sugar, coconut, dried cranberries, vegetable oil, a splash of vanilla and a bit of cinnamon (don’t worry, actual recipe will be at the end of the post).

Oh, and about 9 minutes in, I realized I put the cranberries in. And you’re not supposed to put them in until it’s cooked. So I had to pick them out.

Every fifteen minutes, you stir the granola, making sure the edges don’t get overcooked. My recipe called for an hour, but mine only needed to cook for 45 minutes until it was nice and toasty brown. Then, you take it out and stir in the dried cranberries (any dried fruit will do–raisins, etc.)

Mmmmm, that looks so good.

So, I’m kind of a granola purist. I like it in yogurt, but my favorite way to eat it is with milk.

Or dry, straight out of the bag.

I feel like the southern, dipped in butter, deep fried part of me died a little. But I don’t care. This stuff is goooood!

Granola
(adapted from an Alton Brown recipe)

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup slivered almonds
1 cup cashews (I’ve also used walnuts, and it was still GOOD)
3/4 cup shredded sweet coconut
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons maple syrup
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup raisins

A dash of cinnamon
A splash of vanilla
A bit of honey

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.
In a large bowl, combine the oats, nuts, coconut, and brown sugar. Add the remaining ingredients. Pour onto a sheet pan (you can split it between two pans, but I don’t). Cook for about 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes to achieve an even color.
Remove from oven and transfer into a large bowl. Add cranberries and mix until evenly distributed.

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

6 responses »

  1. That actually looks really good. And I’m not a granola kind of girl. But I might try it! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Is this a consistency that I could make bars out of the granola? It looks like a tasty idea.

    Reply
  3. just-another-foodie

    Tiffany, the recipe would have to be tweaked to make bars. Probably add some corn syrup part of the way through. I can’t say for sure though. I’ll have to post a bar recipe soon!

    Reply
  4. Amber Van Schooneveld

    Hi Brandy! I’m an avid baker and Coloradoan (in fact just moved here from near Boulder–granola-central. If you’re a foodie, you’ve got to go there). I’ve used this Alton recipe many times and love it. Welcome to the land of milk and honey and granola!

    Reply
  5. I made granola for the first time last month. My recipe came from allrecipes and is called “Megan’s Granola.” The volume was huge, so huge that I needed a large roaster to mix it. It is the only container I have large enough to hold the ingredients. It’s an amazing recipe. I’ve always loved granola, but it somehow tasted better, having made it myself. It was gone in less than two weeks (and I was the only one in the house eating it). I’m getting ready to prepare it again. Last night I bought the ingredients. At first I thought it was an expensive recipe, until I calculated the per bowl cost (Alton Brown influence, no doubt) and learned it’s not as expensive as I expected. Organic, nutty, and rustic goodness.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Healthy Breakfast Bars « Just Another Foodie

Leave a Reply

