RSS Feed

Brown Butter Soft Ginger Cookies

Posted on

I don’t really have time to blog, what with all of the holiday craziness. But you guys. I can’t keep these from you. They are delicious. Two people said they taste like Christmas. And I can’t disagree with that. They are gingersnaps without the snap (I like my cookies like I like my pillows…soft…and I apologize, for that was very cheesy). They have brown butter, which is my new favorite thing, all nutty and caramelly and so so good. And they have coconut oil, which I’m beginning to fall in love with (I mean, I put it on my face, I put it in my cookies, it’s basically a Christmas miracle).

I will stop talking and give you the recipe so you can go bake right now.

Brown Butter Soft Ginger Cookies
(adapted from Picky Palate–but not really adapted since they were already perfect)

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup softened or melted coconut oil
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar for rolling dough in

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Place butter into a small saucepan over medium heat. Melt and cook/stir until browned. Takes a good 5-8 minutes. Basically, it will melt and then foam and then turn light brown and start to smell nutty. I recommend a light colored pan so
    you can see the magic happen (and not burn it). Remove from heat and let cool for 15 minutes.
  3. Place cooled brown butter into a stand mixer or large mixing bowl. Add coconut oil, brown sugar, molasses and egg, beating on medium until well combined. Slowly add flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and ginger. Mix until just combined. Dough will be thick. Roll heaping tablespoons of dough into granulated sugar and place onto prepared baking sheet. (I used a small cookie scoop, so mine were a bit smaller I think). At this point, I froze the dough and saved it for later. Because in high altitude, I’ve found that frozen dough works so much better.
  4. Place 1 inch apart to allow for spreading. (If you’re baking these from frozen, adjust the temperature to 325). Bake for 10-12 minutes, until baked through. (Frozen, at 325, mine baked 10 minutes). Remove and let cool on baking sheet for at least 15 minutes before transferring to cooling rack.

 

 

About Brandy

I'm a full-time writer, part-time baker, and not-enough-time runner.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

